Bike Your Vote


Voters across the Puget Sound region have their ballots in hand and are about to choose our representatives for the next four years.

Who we elect matters.  A lot.  We need leaders who will boldly push forward a vision for bike-friendly communities.  Leaders who will make tough choices to prioritize bicycling with budget dollars, and to put separated, protected bicycle lanes on streets.
We all want a better world for our children, and that means creating communities where both an 8-year-old child and an 80-year-old grandparent can safely and comfortably walk or ride a bicycle.  But in order to make this vision a reality, we need to make sure the right people are elected.

That is why Cascade’s  Advocacy Department spends countless hours working on our endorsements.  We want you to know which candidates are committed to creating better communities through bicycling.

Please join the Cascade Bicycle Club in supporting the following candidates for election and re-election.

And make sure to get your ballot in the mail by November 5.

Cascade’s 2013 endorsements:

State races:

- State Senate District 23: Nathan Schlicher

Ballot measures:

- King County Parks Levy, Prop. 1: Yes

County races:

- King County Executive: Dow Constantine
- King County Council, Pos. 1: Rod Dembowski
- Snohomish County, Pos. 1: Bill Blake
- Snohomish County, Pos. 5: Dave Somers

Port races:

- Port of Seattle, Pos. 1: John Creighton
- Port of Seattle, Pos. 3: Stephanie Bowman

City races:

- Auburn Mayor: Nancy Backus
- Auburn, Pos. 6: Rich Wagner
- Bainbridge Island, South Ward: Roger Townsend
- Bainbridge Island, North Ward: Val Tollefson
- Bellevue, Pos. 4: Steve Kasner
- Bellevue, Pos. 6: Lynne Robinson & Vandana Slatter
- Bremerton, Pos. 4: Greg Wheeler
- Burien, Pos. 1: Lauren Berkowitz
- Burien, Pos. 5: Nancy Tosta
- Des Moines, Pos. 7: Dave Kaplan
- Edmonds, Pos. 3: Adrienne Fraley-Monillas
- Federal Way, Pos. 4: Jeanne Burbidge
- Federal Way, Pos. 6: Martin Moore
- Kenmore, Pos. 4: Nigel Herbig
- Kirkland, Pos. 1: Jay Arnold
- Kirkkland, Pos. 2: Shelley Kloba
- Kirkland, Pos. 3: Penny Sweet
- Kirkland, Pos. 5: Amy Walen
- Kirkland, Pos. 7: Doreen Marchione
- Lake Forest Park, Pos. 1: Hilda Thompson
- Lake Forest Park, Pos. 3: John Wright
- Lake Forest Park, Pos. 5: Mark Phillips
- Lake Forest Park, Pos. 7: John Resha
- Issaquah Mayor: Fred Butler
- Mercer Island, Pos. 2: Dan Grausz
- Mercer Island, Pos. 5: Tana Senn
- Mukilteo Mayor: Jennifer Gregerson
- Mukilteo, Pos. 3: Randy Lord
- Sammamish, Pos. 1: Kathleen Huckabay
- Seattle Mayor: Mike McGinn
- Seattle, Pos. 2: Richard Conlin
- Seattle, Pos. 4: Sally Bagshaw
-Seattle, Pos. 6: Nick Licata
- Seattle, Pos. 8: Mike O’Brien
- Shoreline, Pos. 3: Will Hall
- Shoreline, Pos: 7: Chris Roberts
- Tacoma, Pos. 2: Robert Thoms